THE BIGGEST MISTAKE I EVER ALMOST MADE

I met him at the swimming pool;
He invited me to share his lane.
His favor seemed so cool
Offered without seeking gain.

 

He seemed friendly and kind of heart,
So I accepted his invitation.
Such an innocent start
To what could have been devistation.

 

His words seemed genuine and true;
But their deception was well hidden.
It took all I could do
To break free from chains unbidden.

 

We could marry if you’ll do this:
Follow me wherever I go;
We’ll share such love and bliss;
Still his deception did not show.

 

We’ll be together, oh but wait;
Don’t ask too many questions of me;
Come close and stay away;
Commit but let me remain free.

 

And so the confusion marched on,
Until my whole life was undone;
Then came the brightest dawn:
This man is a finagling one.

 

I collected all that remained
Of my self as I left that last day,
Feeling all of the pain,
I courageously went on my way.

 

This was a favor in disguise;
That saved me from injury and sorrow;
Making me much more wise
And preparing me for “tomorrow.”

 

Let my story be a lesson
To any who might trust such a man:
If he brings confusion,
Turn and run as fast as you can!

 

If he tries to take you away
From your family, your friends and your town,
Know there’s a price to pay;
In distress that ever weighs you down.

 

Let me give some friendly advice
That just might help some people at last:
It’s not time to be nice;
Say, “Don’t let the dorr hit your a##”…
On your way out!”

Leave a Reply

