OPPORTUNITIES

Recently, I have had at least three conversations with people that have to do with the choices we make as we progress through life.
“Well, she had a rough childhood….”
or “my mom wasn’t able to show compassion…”

Each time, the implication is that this past wound is responsible for current thinking and actions.
This has inspired me to consider the points of decision that seeme to come our way:

Will I hold to a past wound?
Will I forgive?
Will I cling to old understandings or embrace new truth?
Will I return an offense with something hurtful; will I lead the way of healing by responding graciously?
Will I close my heart in fear?
What might happen if I am open and vulnerable?
The old road of fear, self protection and familiar wounds is always tempting:  I know what to do with all of that.
The new way, however, is where life is.  Every time I forgive, act with grace or take a risk, I heal more and find greater joy.
On several occasions, I have been delightfully surprised by the change in relationships when I choose the way of healing and life.  People who have spoken or acted unkindly, expecting me to do the same, are challenged to interpret and act differently when I don’t react in kind.  I have learned that there is great power in this.
Perhaps the greatest impact has been on the relationship I have with myself.  I have learned that I am powerful; that I am okay, regardless of what others are saying or doing around me.  That means, I am free to choose well.
Points of decision are opportunities; I have grown to greet them with expectancy and grattitude.
 

Leave a Reply

