OPPORTUNITIES

I’m currently on a quest.  It’s both inward and external:  Trying to discern my own heart, while seeking new opportunities.

I’m finding this to be quite the challenge:  My inner world is a labyrinth of feelings, conflicting thoughts and ideas, confusion and plenty of unknowns.

Then, there is matching what I do know and want to the world around me:  No small feat.

Opportunities are often created and called into our lives; then again, they usually involve other people and things that are beyond our control.

Perhaps the most vital aspect of this process is the discovery of those places in my soul that are stuck and restless, unable to speak clearly, filled with powerful emotions.  They are revealed in my dreams; they lift their voices in turmoil when I try to explore possibilities; they ask hard questions for which I have no answers.

Some of these inner struggles have been with me for as long as I can remember.  I think this is so because there is no satisfactory resolution to the challenges they represent.

So what to do.

I say, keep listening and addressing inward concerns; continue to explore possibilities and create new opportunities.  That does seem to be the way of life’s journey…the inner pilgrimage seems to be every bit as real and important as the external one.

Leave a Reply

