FROM TIME TO TIME…

…I go through a struggle:
Who am i?  What do I want to do and be?  What really matters; what could I let go of?
I am in that spot again, where I could go in any of several directions.  I do have some ideas of passions and interests;  yet confusion has a way of moving in and leaving me in this quandary.

As an adult survivor with what is now called Complex Post-traumatic Stress Disorder, I find it difficult to hear my own inner voice.

I have learned a few things through the years that help with this:
*Ask people who know me, especially about their observations and things they think I do best.
*Keep a journal – something in writing is a good reminder.
*Give myself plenty of time to think and feel, since it takes a bit to understand.
*Try some things out; if I don’t like them, I don’t have to continue.
*Read and take some of the free online quizzes to give me things to react to.
*Most of all, appreciate what I sense and feel:  As I do so, my ability to hear my soul increases.

I think it is important to write about this, because I am by no means alone!  Being able to check in, hear, understand and trust are so important; yet millions of us just can’t seem to get there.  Take courage; hang in there and keep trying.  This is a long-term journey of learning, growing and becoming stronger.  Celebrate each success; then venture forth again.

Leave a Reply

