A FLAME

Like a moth who is drawn to a flame,
I want to come close;
Yet it hurts me so.
I’m so ambivalent.

I look hard for every strategy
never finding it;
Feeling defeated.
I try another way.

I taste the sweetness of affection,
Awakening desire;
Drawing me to the fire.
It keeps me hanging on.

I summon the courage to resist,
Standing firm and tall;
Try not to feel small.
I’m strong and do my best.

Yet I long for companions and friends;
Bravely take the risk
Hoping to find bliss
In love and acceptance.

Such a cycle I find myself in,
Seeking friends who stay;
Then I run away
To turn and try again.

Leave a Reply

