TRUE FRIENDSHIP

As my heart awakens,
And feelings begin to speak,
I notice a  deep longing
It’s love and acceptance I seek.

As I become more alert,
And I find a presence there,
An aching disconnection
Cries out for someone to care.

I try to share my heart
And tell of my passionate cry,
But I find that I’m quite mute;
That my words only seem to die.

Then I find some wisdom:
Relationship starts within;
As I become my best friend,
Other friendships will begin.

So I honor my heart
And the messages she speaks;
i listen to her feelings
To her words, both strong and weak.

I respect the process:
It takes time to grow and heal;
And as I find connection,
Acceptance becomes more real.

Leave a Reply

