GOOD MEDICINE

Sometimes, I take myself way too seriously.

The thing is, there are plenty of things in life that might bring us tears of shame, sorrow and pain.

The antidote?  A good laugh.
Proverbs 17:22 says, “A merry heart does good like a medicine…”
Here are some other versions of that:
“A cheerful disposition is good for your health; gloom and doom leave you bone-tired.”  (The Message)
“A happy heart is like good medicine, but a broken spirit drains your strength.”  (New Century Version)
A joyful heart is good medicine, but depression drains one’s strength.”  (God’s Word Translation)
“Being cheerful keeps you healthy. It is slow death to be gloomy all the time.”  (Good News Translation)

I also found some wonderful quotes:

“A good laugh is sunshine in the house.”
William Makepeace Thackeray

“I love people who make me laugh. I honestly think it’s the thing I like most, to laugh. It cures a multitude of ills. It’s probably the most important
thing in a person.”
Audrey Hepburn

“I have seen what a laugh can do. It can transform almost unbearable tears into something bearable, even hopeful.”
Bob Hope

“I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living, it’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of a telescope.
Which is what I do, and that enables you to laugh at life’s realities.”
Dr. Seuss

“If you laugh, you think, and you cry, that’s a full day. That’s a heck of a day. You do that seven days a week, you’re going to have something special.”
Jim Valvano

“Laughter and tears are both responses to frustration and exhaustion. I myself prefer to laugh, since there is less cleaning up to do afterward.”
Kurt Vonnegut

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”
Mahatma Gandhi

Leave a Reply

