REVENGE

I used to have a therapist who was a one-liner kind of guy. One of his favorite sayings was, “The best revenge is to live well.”
I wrote this poem with him in mind:

I take revenge on my enemies
Who are not people as we know and think of them;
Yet they are real.

I take revenge on my enemies
By loving, forgiving, seeking peace, hope and joy;
By choosing life.

I take revenge on my enemies,
Trauma, abuse, shame, powerlessness, lies and fear
By living well.

As I learn to live abundantly,
All of my enemies are soundly defeated
And I grow strong.

Leave a Reply

