FINDING SELF

What do you think?
How do you feel?
I check inside myself:
Nothing.
There is only the silence
Of words never spoken;
The numb void
Of feelings not allowed.

What do you think?
How do you feel?
I listen carefully.
Something.
A whisper softly uttered,
Thoughts barely expressed;
A faint warmth
Of feelings awakening.

What do you think?
How do you feel?
I gaze into my soul:
Anything.
Many voices at once
Vie for attention.
The clamor:
Joyful, angry, sad.

What do you think?
How do you feel?
I know my heartbeat now.
Everything.
Thoughts and conversations
Of rich variety;
Thriving life
Of wholeness within and without.

Leave a Reply

